Thank you so much for your involvement with the Owner's Club Forum! We hope you've gotten some great information and had the chance to interact with other owners on the current system.

Newbie at the Hurricane boat ownership

a124ave1
a124ave1 Member Posts: 1

Hi everyone,<?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

I am new at this big boat Thing. Just got a Hurricane deck boat 1986 SD 176 I/O W/ 2.5Litre model # 302AMKWE OMC motor and Cobra 983841 outdrive. Had on Lake Saturday and motor ran fine as fair as I could tell. If speedometer is correct we were doing 45mph. I would add pictures but not sure if I can. The next time we take it out I think I am going to take portable GPS to see what it says it  The person who had it did not take too much care of it so had to do a lot of cleaning and some rewiring. I painted The Outdrive because it had about 40% of its paint missing. It now has new apostasy and carpet. Have many ouestions but here are a few if anyone can help.

1: When I first throttle up slowly the bow comes up pretty high and can’t see out over the front until I stand up and after a few minutes it will settle out and plane out at speed. The prop is not in to good of shape so am going to perchance a new one. It has 3 blades and no markings on it so I don’t know what pitch it is. I plan on getting a 4 blade one but question what would be go pitch to buy. We are occasionally may pull tubes but 60% of time will be fishing and just swimming from it. Any suggestions on this?

2: The shifter at console seems very sloppy. If I shift into forward and try to stop and go into reverse like unloading and loading the boat it seems to stick like it will not go. Any ideas of what may be wrong with it or adjustments that can be made?