Thank you so much for your involvement with the Owner's Club Forum! We hope you've gotten some great information and had the chance to interact with other owners on the current system.

Water spraying everywhere

allang
allang Member Posts: 5
Hello all I am in need of help. I just picked up my new 2014 hurricane 188 with yamaha f150. I love the boat but am a little concerned on the performance and the way it handles. The first problem is that I get a lot of spray off of the lower part of the engine. It is so bad that you get wet sitting in the back seat on a flat calm day. When I got home I looked to see what hole the motor is mounted in and it was in the top hole so the motor was as low as it could go down. I put a straight edge on the keel of the boat and it was 2 and a half inches above the cavitation plat. The second concern I have is it seems hard to steer mostly to stbd. I have a hydrolic steering system installed. I have been boating for over twenty five years but have never owned a hurricane. We looked at other hurricanes in the river today and they didn't have the spray behind them. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance Allan

Comments

• nquirk
    nquirk Member, Moderator Posts: 672 ✭✭✭✭
    @allang

The steering problem is most likely a result of there being air in the hydraulics making it extremely difficult to turn.  Your first step would be to bleed (or return to the dealer) and ask them to bleed the air from the hydraulic system.

If you do it yourself, you'll need a bottle of hydraulic fluid and a bleed hose.  You'll notice a bleed valve near the helm of your boat that screws off.  Attach the hose and a bottle of fluid held up (you'll need to puncture the bottom the bottle to allow the air to escape)

Then, turn the steering from full port to starboard slowly repeatedly until there is no further air in the system (evident with absence of air bubbles in the bleed hose itself)