Thank you so much for your involvement with the Owner's Club Forum! We hope you've gotten some great information and had the chance to interact with other owners on the current system.

Does all Hurricanes have an automatic bilge pump

I just bought a used 2003 Hurricane 211 center console in good condition.   My question is does all Hurricanes have a auto bilge pump or just certain models?  I have the bilge switch on instrument panel.   I'm new to boating and just want to know how this boat works before I stick her in the water.

Thanks,

Comments

• nquirk
    nquirk Member, Moderator Posts: 672 ✭✭✭✭
    @RuddsRetreat.  Most boats have a 3 wire bilge pump or a bilge pump with an automatic float switch.  I suspect being a 2003 model it will also have one.

However, when it comes to boats, I never leave things to chance.

When you turn the switch on manually, does the pump run?  Even if its not pumping water out you should hear it running.

Next, test it.  Fill the bilge area with several buckets of water.  You'll need to add enough to cover the bottom of the bilge pump (usually less than an inch of water or so).  Keep adding water until you hear the pump kick in and pump out the water.

If you get more than a few inches in there and don't have a running pump, that tells me one of 3 things:

- your bilge pump doesn't have a float switch
    - your float switch is there but defective
    - your direct power source to the pump isn't working.(faulty wire and/or fuse)

Back to the 3 wire pump comment above.  What I mean by that is it has a common ground, a switched power (runs to the switch on the helm) and a 3rd wire which connects direct to the battery to turn power on/off via the float switch.

Let us know how it turns out.  And also, as good practice, the first time I put my boat in the water for the season I use the water test to validate my float switch and auto bilge pump works.  Always better to find out BEFORE you need it.